Skip to main content

The Vedas

Vedas are the fundamentals on which the sanatana dharma is based on. Vedas are also known as Sruthi or Amnaya. Sruthi means that which is heard. In the ancient times, the vedas which originated by itself (swayambhu) let themselves to be heard by the rishis who were doing penance. Thus, even those rishis are not the authors of the vedas. 

There are four Vedas: the Rigveda, the Yajurveda, the Samaveda and the Atharvaveda. Each Veda has been subclassified into four major text types – the Samhitas (mantras), the Aranyakas (rituals), the Brahmanas (commentaries), and the Upanishads (philosophy). 

In the olden days, the vedas were transmitted through oral tradition unlike the present days in which there are written manuscripts. Intonations are very important while reciting the vedas as different tones may attribute different meanings to the same mantra. The upward, downward and median tones (swaras) are termed udaaatta, anudaatta and swaritha respectively. To elucidate the point, the story of Vritrasura is explained. His father, Twashta prayed for a son who will kill Indra. But his error in pronouncing the mantras led to his son being killed by Indra. Many teachers of the vedic period have mentioned about the futility of reciting veda mantras without knowing their meaning.

To understand the depth of vedic hymns, it is imperative to know the meaning of shiksha, vyakarana, chandas, niruktam, jyothisham and kalpam. These 6 are known as vedangas. Shikha, varna, swara, maatra, balam, saama and santhaaana are needed for proper utterance of vedic mantras. The 4 vedas, 6 vedangas along with puranas, nyayas, dharmashastras and meemamsas are together known as vidyas which are 14 in total. 

The vedas are also known as thrayee which means three. In the olden days, only rig, yajur and sama vedas were present. Rig veda mantras when sung with proper intonation becomes sama veda. Atharvana veda originated after the thrayee. In the olden days, there were people well versed in all the vedas and were known as Trivedis or Dwivedis depending on the number of vedas they are well versed in.


Popular posts from this blog

Sacred Saligramam ( Saligrama )

If you ever happened to have a look inside a Vaishnavite's Pooja room, you might have had a glimpse of a black stone called Saligramam being worshipped. It is usually black in color with the symbol of sudarshana chakra. The chakras can be seen both outside and inside. The Saligrama stone is not believed to be just another stone found in the nature. It is found only at Gandaki River situated high in the Himalayas in Nepal. It is believed that the chakra symbols are formed by river worms called Vajra Keeta. It is believed that these worms drill the stones, get inside and use the stones a dwelling place.

There is a legend behind the origin of Saligramam. Once upon a time, Lord Siva was waging a war with an asura called Jallundhara. The war seemed to be between two equals and not just another war of a God with a demon. It was in fact a test of chastity of their consorts. (It is a Hindu belief that chastity of the wife protects her husband even from death) Lord Siva knew that unless th…

Namakarana - Naming ceremony

Naming a baby is a religious ceremony for the Hindus. In Kerala, usually a baby boy is named on the 27th day after birth and a girl is named on the 28th day after birth. The right day for the ceremony is defined by Gruhyasutras and there are different opinions for the same. Even these dates were to be postponed if there is any lack of religious propriety as in events like a Sankranti, Sraddha ceremony etc. On that day, the baby is given a bath and a black thread is tied around the waist. There will be a feast and distribution of sweets like "payasam". Later, either the father, uncle, grandma or the most senior person of a household whispers thrice into the right ear of the baby, his or her name for the first time.

But according to Sastras, the naming ceremony is supposed to be conducted on the 11th day or 101the day. Different kinds of pujas and homams are conducted on that day. After whispering the name three times into the ear of the baby, the person who conducts the nami…

How to do Pradakshinam (circumambulation) in a temple

All the heavenly bodies rotate on its axis as well as circumambulates around other objects like earth around the sun. It is symbolized in the Hindu custom of doing Pradakshinam around the deities in a temple or during a pooja.

Circumambulation around sanctum sanctorium in the temple or deities is called Pradakshinam (Pradakshina). It has to be done always in a clockwise manner with the deity on our right side during circumambulation.

The number of Pradakshinam that has to be done in a temple depends on the deity to whom we are offering it. According to some sources it is as follows.

1 – Ganapathy
2 – Aditya, BhadraKali
3 – Shiva
4 – Vishnu, Devi
5 – DharmaShastha
6 - Subrahmanya
7 – Durga, Banyan Tree
21 - Swayambhu

There are four different parts in a Pradakshinam. Walk one step at a time slowly, like measuring the length with our foot. Keep the hands folded like a lotus bud holding it close to the chest. Chant the names of the respective deity. Keep the thoughts fixed on God. During…