Wednesday, February 18, 2009

Vedas and Puranas in Sanskrit with Hindi translation

The Vedas are the four ancient Indian collection of knowledge from the vedic period. The four vedas are Rigveda, Yajurveda, Samaveda and Atharvaveda.

The Purāṇas are vedic Hindu texts containing myths and legends and is even considered as the fifth veda. The Puranas are often attributed to the sage Vyasa, the author of Mahabharata. The concept of devotion (bhakti) is the most important theme in the puranas. The puranas are sometimes referred to as the fifth veda.

You can read the puranas in Sanskrit with their translation in Hindi at the following link.

1 comment: